Pickychick Notes: A pre-emptive strike

7 Oct

So for the Pickychick two-month anniversary, we will be doing a week of books with praise-worthy male protagonists. The theory behind this is that girls are willing to read books about both girls and boys, while boys mainly read books about boys. And there really are some great books about some great guys out there, so we’re gonna give them a quick tribute.
But beforehand, I thought I’d get some opinions on ones I should check out before final cuts. Please leave a comment if you have a favorite hero you want to make the list!
Also, is it worth it for me to read the Percy Jackson books? I saw the movie with my sister (and my enjoyment was based pretty solely on Logan Lerman), but have yet to crack a cover. Thoughts?

9 Responses to “Pickychick Notes: A pre-emptive strike”

  1. Katie Nolan October 7, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    I’ve only read the first Percy Jackson, but I really enjoyed it. Percy’s confused and surprised about life and has daddy issues, but I don’t remember it being anything annoying. It’s also fun if you enjoy Greek mythology. I like how it stretches into present day America. Plus, as usual, the book is much, much better than the movie.

    Also Chris Crutcher is a great author for boy books. I’ve read Whale Talk and his autobiography. He does a lot of work with troubled teens in real life, so his books tend to involve real, hard issues. It gives his plots a lot of depth.

    I think my two favorite boy books are ‘An Abundance of Katherines’ by John Green, which is funny and features a genius-level boy and his not-genius friend who serves as a connection to the rest of humanity. The thing that drives the plot is Colin’s (genius-boy’s) propensity towards dating girls named Katherine. The relationships don’t end well. I also love T.A. Barron’s The Lost Years of Merlin. It’s Barron’s answer to the question, ‘where did Merlin come from and how did he become the legend?’

    This may be more than you’d bargained for. I’ve had a lot of spare time recently. 🙂

    Oh, and a final one is Nation by Terry Pratchett. It’s sort of a boy book and a girl book, but I feel like it leans towards the boy’s narrative a little more, it’s got Pratchett’s humor and it’s a powerful growing-up story.

    • pickychick books October 8, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      Can I just say that I’m glad you love Chris Crutcher? He’s only one of my favorite authors on the FACE OF THE PLANET! Never fear that he’ll be on there!

      • Katie Nolan October 8, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

        Yay! He’s one of my pleasant surprise authors – I wasn’t sure I’d like him, but I loved him.

  2. Margaret Thompson October 8, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Bridge to Terabithia, perhaps? Terry Pratchett’s The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents is a good one for a slightly older teen audience. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Dragonhaven by Robin McKinley. Harry Potter is the obvious one, but at this point it seems superfluous to mention HP. The entirety of The Once and Future King (technically 4ish books) by T.H. White for the voracious teen reader with an Arthurian legend interest. Enchanted Glass by Dianna Wynne Jones.

    • pickychick books October 8, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      I love Dianna Wynne Jones, and Terry Pratchett – what are your thoughts on the Chrestomanci series or the Ankh-Morpok novels?

      • Margaret Thompson October 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

        Haven’t read the Chrestomanci series. All the Discworld books are great, of course, I was thrilled you reviewed the Wee Free Men. If I was going to recommend a place to start in that series for boys, I guess I’d go with Guards!Guards! My personal favorites are The Wyrd Sisters, Thief of Time, and the two Moist von Lipwig books (Going Postal and Making Money). Thief of Time is the first Pratchett I ever read, back at the age of 13ish. Susan kicks ass.

      • Margaret Thompson October 8, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

        Oh! and for the older teen boy (or girl, obviously, but since we’re talking boys) who loves epic fantasy, Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind. The epic fantasy that restored my love of epic fantasy after I’d gotten tired of all the poorly written Tolkien ripoffs and farm boys who are secretly princes (Though Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain books actually are very good, and have a male protag, speaking of books for boys. The first one is The Book of Three, maybe. Or possibly The Black Cauldron, I forget the order). Okay, I really think I’m done now, sorry.

  3. Kelsey T October 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I support the strike but sadly don’t have any suggestions off he top of my head. Let me think on it…

  4. pickychick books October 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Thank you for the recommendations everyone! I’ll get reading, and you can look for those who made the cut in the vicinity of the first week of November!

Leave a Reply

